At the end of the school year, you may be wondering what to do with your classes, along with all the documents - both yours and the students that have been uploaded throughout the school year. Maybe you want to re-use your materials next year, but you don't want to go through the process of re-uploading every file again. Don't worry, we have a feature that can help with that! Do you still want access to student assignments, but you don't want those old classes taking up space in your class list? Good news: we can help with that too.
If it's not broken, don't fix it! If you're teaching the same classes next year and you plan to re-use your past assignments, consider copying your classes (note: when you copy classes it will not copy students). When you copy your class, it will copy all assignments and shared folders. Alternatively, you can copy individual assignments too if you don't need to copy an entire class.
You never know when you might need to access materials from older classes - maybe you're not teaching that same class next year, but you might in the future. However, we understand that organization is important to teachers, and you may not want to see last year's classes crowding your class list. You can have the best of both worlds! You can archive your old classes so they're hidden from your class list, but still accessible if you ever need to reference previous work.
Maybe you prefer to keep your previous students' work on file in case they request access to it later. You can lock assignments so students can't access them after the school year has ended. That way, assignments can't be edited, but you can still access students' previous assignments if requested.
If you're absolutely certain that you're ready for a totally clean slate, there is the option to delete your old classes, too. Be warned: when a class is deleted, you will lose everything permanently!
Not ready to make any changes yet? No worries! You can leave your classes in their current state in Showbie, and come back to them later. As long as you don't delete them, they'll be there waiting for your return.